Department of Pharmacology

The thrust areas of research are: a) Psychoneuropharmacology of stress, pain and convulsive disorders; neurobehavioral aspects of drug abuse; opioid and indigenous drug pharmacology. b) Clinical pharmacology for which the department is equipped with spectrophotometer, spectroflourometer. The department has acquired, some time ago, a binary HPLC system with Pentium IV computer for integration. Besides training the PG students in biochemical techniques of drug assay, these instruments are used to develop skills in designing and executing drug evaluation studies (bioequivalence, pharmacovigilance, different phases of clinical trials of drugs, and drug-drug and drug­-herb interaction studies). These equipments are also used to train students from other departments too, for research studies and to collaborate in the investigations of other clinical and para-clinical departments. The department is also involved in providing inputs in patient care in the hospital by way of therapeutic drug monitoring services in the area of antitubercular and antiepileptic drug therapy. The laboratory services are available for diagnosis of poisons and other toxicological substances. Recently acquired equipments are Digital Analgesio-/Hyperalgesia-Metyem, Digital Microplate ELISA Reader, Digital Animal Activity Monitor, Three Channel Physiography, and Digital One-pan Balance. By virtue of availability of functional spectrophotometer, spectroflourometer and binary pump HPLC, the department is conducting bioequivalence studies for hands-on training programme for post-graduate students as regulatory studies on behalf of pharmaceutical industry. An innovative curriculum has been developed to impart training to undergraduate medical students in problem-based teaching-learning exercise in Phatmacology and Rational Drug Prescribing to interns as part of orientation programme. The department has published many papers and books.


Name Dr Rachana Gupta  
Designation Professor & HOD
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email rgupta@ucms.ac.in


Name  Dr Seema Jain  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email sjain1@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Sumita Halder  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email shalder@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Yashika Garg  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email ygarg@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Priyanka Pravinbhai Hotha  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email pphotha@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Proteesh Rana  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email prana@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Sandhya Rani Gautam  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email srgautam@ucms.ac.in