Department of Microbiology

The Department of Microbiology is catering to a vast array of laboratory services to patients of GTB Hospital and referred from other Hospitals of East Delhi. Currently approx. 5.0 lakhs diagnostic tests are processed each year in 11 sections of the department. The HIV testing centre-VCCTC & PPTCT, currently redesignated as ICTC, established in 1992 under the administration of DSACS / NACO, performs approx. 6000 tests per year. It has been identified as State Reference Laboratory (SRL) in 2007 and has 18 VCCTC and 4 Blood Banks attached as participants of External Quality Assurance Programme. Our Counselors / Technicians performance has been graded excellent by DSACS this year. The Department has been successfully conducting M.Sc. / MLT training courses each year. Hospital Infection Control Committee is involved in annual surveillance of environmental monitoring of all OT’s and quality testing of water supply to the Hospital and Residential areas. It also undertakes outbreak investigation as a part of surveillance activity. A Molecular Laboratory has been established where PCR, SDS-PAGE and Gel documentation system has been installed and research work has been started. Diagnostic will be started as soon as reagents are available.


Name Dr N P Singh  
Designation Professor & HOD
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email npsingh@ucms.ac.in


Name  Dr Shukla Das  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email sdas@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Rumpa Saha  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email rsaha@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Bineeta Kashyap  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email bkashyap@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Kirti Nirmal  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email knirmal@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Manoj Kumar Meena  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email mkmeena@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Charu Jain  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email cjain@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Nadeem Ahmad  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email nahmad@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Nisha Goyal  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email ngoyal@ucms.ac.in