Department of Pathology

Histopathology section of the department has an annual output of over 84,000 investigations. Facilities of histochemical and immunohistochemical test, phenotyping of tumours and ultra-structural studies are available. Autopsy services consist mostly of neonatal autopsies. Cytopathology section has an output of over 46,000 specimens comprising fine-needle aspiration gynaecologic and other exfoliative material. Fluid section does more than 1,00,000 investigations such as in urine for bile ucms salts, bile pigments, Ketone bodies and Bence Jones proteins; semen examination, pregnancy test and CSF examination. Haematology facilities include investigations for haemolytic anaemias, haemoglobinopathies (especially thalassaemias), nutritional anaemia, red cell enzyme deficiencies, leukaemia and bleeding disorders. More than 2,00,000 specimens are investigated each year in Special Haemotology Laboratory. This laboratory is also involved in identification of beta-thalassaemia mutations with further possibility of establishing prenatal diagnostic services. Facilities exist for DNA analysis for haematological and other disorders. The Blood Bank is upgraded to Regional Blood Transfusion Centre which provides facilities including of blood components to the population of East Delhi. Over 25,000 units of blood is collected and issued after screening for HBsAg and HIV. The department has started testing HIV positivity by a high sensitive technique using RT-PCR for HIV RNA(NAT). This is being carried out in collaboration with Delhi state government and Roche Diagnostics. The research activities include cancer specific markers, histopathology in leprosy and hepatocarcinogenesis, morphologic changes in tuberculous lymph-nodes in patients on DOT,. and genetic profiling of Wilm's tumor. The other areas of interest are leukemia and coagulation disorders. The department has several projects funded by agencies like WHO, UNICEF, ICMR, UGC and CSIR. The histopathology section has added immunofluroscence staining on tissue sections for greater precision in diagnosis of renal and dermatological conditions. Haematology section is proposing to start immunostaining and flowcytometry for diagnosis of haematological malignancies. The cytology section would be starting liquid based cytology and flowcytometry for malignant aspirate.


Name Dr Sonal Sharma  
Designation Professor & HOD
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email ssharma@ucms.ac.in


Name  Dr Kaniyappan Nambiyar  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email knambiyar@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Rachna Meena  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email rmeena@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Anju Khairwa  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email akhairwa@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Kalpana Kumari  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email kkumari@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Tripti Nakra  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email tnakra@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Poonam Rani  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email prani@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Deepshikha Rana  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email drana@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Pragya Jain  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile 1234567890
Email pjain@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Lavleen Singh  
Designation Assistant Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email lsingh@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Preeti Diwaker  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email pdiwakar@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Nadeem Tanveer  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email ntanveer@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Mrinalini Kotru  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email mkotru@ucms.ac.in

Name  Dr Richa Gupta  
Designation Professor
Phone +91-11-22582972-74
Mobile
Email rgupta1@ucms.ac.in