Department of Radiology
Special investigative facilities available are barium series, IVP, cholecystography, ERCP, hysterosalipingrography, angiography, mammography, xeroradiography, ultrasound including endo-vaginal and endo-rectal and colour Doppler. Automatic film processors are available for quick and better development of films. Among the projects in hand are eye US, thyroid and breast US, musculo-skeletal US, joint evaluation and detection of early osteomyelitis.

The department also runs an x-ray technician course at 10+2 level and a B.Sc. (Medical Technology) Radiography course.

Teaching Staff:

UCMS Cadre      
Dr. (Mrs.) Suchi Bhatt Professor & Head Research Projects Thesis supervised
Dr. Gopesh Mehrotra Professor Research Projects Thesis supervised
Dr. (Mrs.) Anupama Tandon Associate Professor Research Projects Thesis supervised

CHS Cadre      
Dr. Vinita Rathi Professor Research Projects Thesis supervised

Non-Teaching Staff:

Dr. Ajai Srivastava Physicist-cum-Radiation Safety Officer  
Mr. Avdesh Kumar Stenographer (1st Half)  

Appointment of Teachers, if any, to Higher Posts / Assignment Outside

Dr. Bhargava S K
Chairman, Board of Research Studies, Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Delhi, 2001-2004.
Short term assignment for 15 days to assist in starting B. Sc. (Medical Lab. Technology Radiography) at BP Koirala Instt. of Health Sciences, Dharan, Nepal.
Central Council Member, Indian Radiological and Imaging Association, 2008-2009.
Dr. Rathi V
Head, Department of  Radiology Chacha Nehru Bal Chikitsalaya, Geeta Colony, Delhi, 5 Dec 08 - till date.

Distinctions Achieved by the Members of the Teaching Staff Either at the National or International Level
Dr. Bhargava S K
President, Indian Radiological & Imaging Association, 2004-2005.
Fellow of IMA, Academy of Medical Specialities - 1986.
Fellow of Indian College of Radiology & Imaging - 1987.
WHO Fellowship 1986 for USA & Finland on latest imaging modality (NMR & CT) and cancer control and education.
Visiting Fellow for Ultrasound Doppler Training from 5th March to 9th March 1990 at Holland and 13th to 16th March 1990 at Howard Medical School, Boston, USA.
Fellow of Ultrasound Society of India, 1991.
Fellow of Indian College of Chest Physician, 1993.
Fellow of Indian College of Ultrasound, 1994.
Fellow of International Medical Sciences Academy, 1995.
Fellow of National Academy of Medical Sciences, 1996.
Chairman, Indian College of Radiology & Imaging, 1999-2003.
Associate Editor of Indian Journal of Radiology & Imaging.
Member, Editorial Board, Indian Journal of Chest Diseases.
Manuscript Editor, Ultrasound International.
Guest Editor, Imaging Issue of Journal of International Medical Sciences Academy, 2001.
Swami Vivekananda Memorial Oration Award for Diagnostic Research 1992-93.
Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Award, 1993 for outstanding academic achievements.
Sri J. C. Bose Oration Award 1996 ─ Highest Award of Indian Radiological & Imaging Association.
Prithvi Nath Bhargava Memorial National Award 1996 for outstanding achievements in medical sciences.
GEMS International Award 1993.
Maulik Hindi Pustak Puraskar on his book Cancer Ke Tathya in Hindi carries a cash award of Rs. 15000/- and Prashasti Patra, 1997.
Vishist Chikitsa Medal 1998, by Association of College of Chest Physician of India.
Bharat Jyoti Award, India International Friendship Society, 2003.
International Health Professional of the Year 2007 by International Biographical Centre, Cambridge, England.
International Medical Science Academy awarded “First Best Article Award”-2006 for the Article “Respiratory Function Tests in Rubber Factory Workers”.
Paper on “Pre-operative evaluation of colorectal carcinoma by computed tomography” got First Best Paper Award-2008 by Journal of International Medical Science Academy, 2008.

Dr. Bhatt S
German Remedies Traveling Fellowship – Indian College of Radiology & Imaging.
Awarded Dr. KM Rai Memorial oration for the year 2006 in the 60th Annual Cong. of Radiology, Mumbai, Jan 2007.

Dr. Verma S
Received Onco-imaging Innovative National Research Award at the Annual Conference of -, Kolkata.

Vocational courses available:

B.Sc. (Medical Technology) Radiography. Eligibility: 10+2 certificate course with science. Entrance exam conducted by University of Delhi, Duration: 3yrs.
Diploma in Radiography through National Institute of Open Schooling under Ministry of Human Resource Development. Duration: 2yrs.

Postgraduate thesis completed during last 3 years:

Name Title Chief Supervisor
Dr. Shefali Gupta Role of Transabdominal and Transvaginal Sonography in the Diagnosis of Gyanecological Mass Lesions Prof. S.K. Bhargava
Dr. Rekha Singhal Role of Ultrasonography in Neck Mass Lesions Prof. S.K. Bhargava
Dr. Atin Kumar Ultrasonographic Evaluation of Hepato Biliary Mass Lesions Prof. S.K. Bhargava
Dr. Rohini Gupta Role of Sonography in the Diagnosis of Ocular and Orbital Disease Prof. S.K. Bhargava

Funded Research Projects:


List of Publications 2003 onwards:

| About Us | Departments | Central Facilities | Hospital | Administration | Courses | Admission | Students Activities | Research | Laboratories | Careers | Entrance Results | Tender Notice | Location Map | Contact Us |
© Copyright 2008 University College of Medical Sciencesa.  
Site Designed by UCMS.