Department of Pharmacology





The thrust areas of research are: a) Psychoneuropharmacology of stress, pain and convulsive disorders; neurobehavioral aspects of drug abuse; opioid and indigenous drug pharmacology. b) Clinical pharmacology for which the department is equipped with spectrophotometer, spectroflourometer. The department has acquired, some time ago, a binary HPLC system with Pentium IV computer for integration. Besides training the PG students in biochemical techniques of drug assay, these instruments are used to develop skills in designing and executing drug evaluation studies (bioequivalence, pharmacovigilance, different phases of clinical trials of drugs, and drug-drug and drug­-herb interaction studies). These equipments are also used to train students from other departments too, for research studies and to collaborate in the investigations of other clinical and para-clinical departments. The department is also involved in providing inputs in patient care in the hospital by way of therapeutic drug monitoring services in the area of antitubercular and antiepileptic drug therapy. The laboratory services are available for diagnosis of poisons and other toxicological substances. Recently acquired equipments are Digital Analgesio-/Hyperalgesia-Metyem, Digital Microplate ELISA Reader, Digital Animal Activity Monitor, Three Channel Physiography, and Digital One-pan Balance.

By virtue of availability of functional spectrophotometer, spectroflourometer and binary pump HPLC, the department is conducting bioequivalence studies for hands-on training programme for post-graduate students as regulatory studies on behalf of pharmaceutical industry. An innovative curriculum has been developed to impart training to undergraduate medical students in problem-based teaching-learning exercise in Phatmacology and Rational Drug Prescribing to interns as part of orientation programme.

The department has published many papers and books. Read More……..

Teaching Staff:

UCMS Cadre




Dr. Rachna Gupta

Professor & Head


Dr. Seema Jain




Dr. Sumita Halder

Associate Professor



Dr. Yashika Garg

Assistant Professor



Dr. Priyanka P. Hotha

Assistant Professor



Dr. Sandhya Rani Gautam

Assistant Professor



Dr. Proteesh Rana

Assistant Professor







Non-Teaching Staff:

Mr. G.S. Meena

Senior Technical Assistant

Mr. Brij lal

Technical Assistant

Mr.Dayal Singh

Laboratory Assistant

Mr. Harish Tamta

Laboratory Assistant

Mr.Kehar Singh

Laboratory Assistant

Mr.Krishna Kumar

Laboratory Assistant, Store

Mr. Jagdish Prasad


Mr. Om prakash


Mr. Rakesh

Laboratory Attendant


Senior Demonstrator:

Dr Dheeraj Kumar Jakhar


Dr Nisha Pippal


Ms Athira Jayaraj


Dr Ankit

Dr Lokesh



| About Us | Departments | Central Facilities | Hospital | Administration | Courses | Admission | Students Activities | Research | Laboratories | Careers | Entrance Results | Tender Notice | Location Map | Contact Us |
© Copyright 2008 University College of Medical Sciencesa.  Site Designed by UCMS.