Multi-disciplinary Research Units (MRU), a central research facility established at University College of Medical Sciences & GTB Hospital through the Department of Health and Research (DHR) and ICMR, Government of India to strengthen the Public Health Research/Clinical Research in India. The scheme was approved and implemented in the Government medical colleges/research institutions to fulfill the prime functions of the department especially to promote basic, applied and clinical research.


Aim of the establishment of MRU :

To encourage and reinforce the environment of research in medical colleges.
To encourage the young scientists / clinicians to the clinical / health research by supporting with MRU research projects.
To bridge the gap between basic research and the clinical / health research in the medical colleges
To ensure the basic research infrastructure to all major public health organizations to facilitate the health / clinical research.
To improve the overall health status of the Indian population by generating diagnostic procedures / methods.

UCMS- MRU-DHR has following roles :

To undertake research projects as recommended by the External Research Advisory Committee of MRU-UCMS in non-communicable diseases
To fully utilize the MRU facility established at UCMS by funding intramural MRU-DHR projects.
To conduct the local research advisory committee meeting time to time for smoothly implementation of research projects and timely submission of progress report to the DHR-ICMR.

MRU Staff :

  Name Designation
  Dr. Shukla Das
Professor, Department of Microbiology, Co-ordinator & Nodal Officer
  Dr. Mohammad Ahmad Ansari Research Scientist-II
  Dr. Manushi Siddarth Post-doc (UGC)
  Ms. Kanchan Rawat Lab Technician
  Mr. Sourav K Yogesh Lab Technician
  Mr. Digvijay Singh Lab Assistant cum DEO

CRL Staff :

  Name Designation
  Mr. Diwesh Chawla Sr Technical Assistant
  Mr. Deepak Kumar Lab Attendant
External Research Advisory Committee :
  Name and address Designation
Dr. B. C. Koner
Maulana Azad Medical College (MAMC)-Delhi
(Chairperson –MRU)
Dr. Sujata Chakrabarti
Institute of Human Behaviour and Allied Sciences (IHBAS)-Delhi

Dr. Asha Tyagi
UCMS & GTB Hospital-Delhi
(Member –MRU)

Dr. Vinita K. Jaggi
Delhi State Cancer Institute (DSCI)-Delhi
(Member –MRU)

Dr. Showket Hussain
National Institute of Cytology and Preventive-Noida
(Member –MRU)

Dr. Amir Maroof Khan
UCMS & GTB Hospital-Delhi
(Member –MRU)


Dr. Shukla Das
UCMS & GTB Hospital-Delhi

(Nodal Officer –MRU)

Local Research Advisory Committee :

  Name and address Designation
  Dir Prof SV Madhu
Head, Deptt. of Endocrinology

  Dir Prof Sanjay Gupta
Head, Deptt. of Surgery
  Dir Prof Vinod Kumar Arora
Deptt. of Pathology
  Dir Prof Archana Singal
Deptt. of Dermatology
  Assoc Prof Mohit Mehndiratta
Deptt of Biochemistry
  Assoc Prof Rajarshi Kar
Deptt. of Biochemistry
Member Secretary
  Dir Prof Shukla Das
Deptt. of Microbiology
Co-ordinator & Nodal Officer

Research Projects Running at MRU Facility :

Completed Research Projects
Ongoing Research Projects  
Instrumentation Facilities
Photographs of Multi-disciplinary Research Unit :
  * Central Research Laboratory
  * Cell Sorting Facility
  * HPLC Facility
  * General Facility
  * Cell Culture Facility

User request form :

  Annexure: user request form


| About Us | Departments | Central Facilities | Hospital | Administration | Courses | Admission | Students Activities | Research | Laboratories | Careers | Entrance Results | Tender Notice | Location Map | Contact Us |
© Copyright 2008 University College of Medical Sciencesa.   Site Designed
by UCMS.